Smoke and Mirrors

I am very new to the whole blogging scene, but I feel like I have so much on my heart that the Lord has laid there that I want to share it. I think that blogging is just another way the Lord can use me to touch people.

I got back late Monday night from San Diego. I attended the National Youth Worker’s Convention held by Youth Specialties. In the Youth Pastor world, this is the big one. The one that has all the best exhibitors, the best speakers, bands, comedians, classes, and more. And this year was no different. I love going to this seminar. At my age, however, there’s not a whole lot in the interest classes that ‘interest’ me. They are geared to the younger pastor who is looking for help in certain areas of their ministry. I am not saying that I know it all, just almost!

One of my favorite things to do at this conference is make myself available. I love to give a hand to whoever, wherever, however I can. I really like helping young pastors out. They are so receptive and gracious. One pastor in particular this past week looked very intently into my eyes after I told him that I had been in full time youth ministry for over 21 years…as he looked into my eyes he asked ‘how’. I told him, ‘I don’t know. Only God knows.’

That young man made me stop, and look into the mirror. I took a look at myself and had to remember who I am, and whose I am. I am God’s son…I’m his boy. I try my hardest to make Him proud, and to smile. I try so hard to follow His commands; Love God, and love people. I know that when I do that…He smiles. So, when I look into that mirror, I want to Jesus.

Yeah, it was crazy in San Diego with the fires and all. I smelled the smoke and saw it in the air. People were run out of their homes, with the possibility of losing everything; and so many did lose everything. Right now, wherever you are, stop and say a prayer for those people in California.

The smoke was pretty thick even where we were. But through the thickest smoke, I still want to be seen by Him as a child of God.

8 Responses to “Smoke and Mirrors”

  1. u are doing the right thing.i am so glad u are my youth minister bc u opened my eye and look at thing in a diffrent way and i get what u are daying most of the time.people u do that are amazing.u are the best sherman and i love u so much.thank u for teaching me:D. dont dont give up.
    i will prey for them 2 bc if my house was on fire i would be lost. ilove u sherman:D
    ohh and i like the idia of a blog

  2. I love you SSSSOOO much!you have impacted my life in so many ways! HAVE A GOOD DAY!
    ~hearts~
    alyssa

  3. I want to thank you for all you have done to help Wes and I raise our kids; who are turning out to be pretty decent people! We need all the help we can get! Thanks to for being a great friend and for keeping us focused on what God wants for our church.

  4. Oh Shermie, you are one in a million. Who could not love you. I have had so much hope in my heart for our church, I lose that once in awhile, like now. But then I get this E-Mail stating that you have a new blog, so of course I have to check it out. And what happens, the hope returns. Praise God and thanks.

    Billie

  5. kayleigh! [: Says:

    SHERMAN! i love you, and i love how on fire you are for our church. the christ community church. you are doing all the right things,and everything will form into shape when God wants it all to happen. i love you sherman, and keep doing what you’re doing.
    i think this blog thing could be awesome[:
    haha, i love you. keep doing what you’re doing, and stay on fire for God!
    [:

  6. angelampatterson Says:

    I agree with your blog. Sometimes it’s easier to do for others than to have someone do for you. I would much rather do for someone else than ask for help or a favor… Or a ride if your car is in the shop, etc.

    Someone did something nice for us and I said, “I don’t know what to say.”

    They said, “Say ‘thank you’ and shut up about it already.”

    ‘Nuff said.

  7. angelampatterson Says:

    Did that come out the way that I meant it to??

    Of course I meant for ME to say thank you and just shut up. I wasn’t insinuating anything there.

    Sometimes it’s nice to receive. Enjoy your friends and family.

  8. Sherman Gardner Says:

    Haha…Angela, you crack me up! But you and Doug ROCK!!! Love you guys so much!

Leave a Reply

